Judicial Merit Selection Commission

Rep. G. Murrell Smith Jr., Chairman Sen. Luke A. Rankin, Vice-Chairman Sen. Ronnie A. Sabb Sen. Scott Talley Rep. J. Todd Rutherford Rep. Jeffrey E. "Jeff" Johnson Hope Blackley-Logan Lucy Grey McIver Andrew N. Safran J.P. "Pete" Strom Jr.



Erin B. Crawford, Chief Counsel Emma Dean, Counsel

Post Office Box 142 Columbia, South Carolina 29202 (803) 212-6623

MEDIA RELEASE

November 23, 2021

The Judicial Merit Selection Commission found the following judicial candidates qualified and nominated at the public hearings held November 15-17, 2021:

Supreme Court

Seat 4 The Honorable Kaye G. Hearn, Conway, SC

Court of Appeals

Seat 5, Chief Judge The Honorable H. Bruce Williams, Columbia, SC

Seat 9 The Honorable David Garrison "Gary" Hill, Greenville,

SC

Circuit Court

1st Judicial Circuit, Seat 1 Charles J. McCutchen, Orangeburg, SC

Heath Preston Taylor, Gaston, SC

1st Judicial Circuit, Seat 2 The Honorable Diane Schafer Goodstein, Summerville,

SC

2nd Judicial Circuit, Seat 1 The Honorable Courtney Pope, Aiken, SC

3rd Judicial Circuit, Seat 1 The Honorable Ralph Ferrell Cothran Jr., Manning, SC

4th Judicial Circuit, Seat 1 The Honorable Paul M. Burch, Pageland, SC

5th Judicial Circuit, Seat 2 The Honorable Daniel McLeod Coble, Columbia, SC

The Honorable Amy McCulloch, Columbia, SC

S. Boyd Young, Columbia, SC

6th Judicial Circuit, Seat 1 The Honorable Brian M. Gibbons, Chester, SC

8 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 1	The Honorable Frank Robert Addy Jr., Greenwood, SC
13 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 1	The Honorable Perry H. Gravely, Pickens, SC
13th Judicial Circuit, Seat 4	The Honorable Alex Kinlaw Jr., Greenville, SC
16 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 2	The Honorable Daniel Hall, York, SC
Family Court 2nd Judicial Circuit, Seat 1	The Honorable Vicki J. Snelgrove, Aiken, SC
3 rd Judicial Circuit, Seat 1	The Honorable Thomas M. Bultman, Sumter, SC
4th Judicial Circuit, Seat 1	The Honorable Cely Anne Brigman, Darlington, SC
8 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 2	The Honorable Mindy W. Zimmerman, Newberry, SC
Administrative Law Court Seat 2	The Honorable Milton G. Kimpson, Columbia, SC

The Judicial Merit Selection Commission found the following judicial candidates qualified at the public hearings held November 15-17, 2021:

Retired

Circuit Court	The Honorable Thomas W. Cooper Jr., Manning, SC The Honorable R. Markley Dennis Jr., Daniel Island, SC
Family Court	The Honorable William J. Wylie Jr., Summerville, SC

The Judicial Merit Selection Commission will hold hearings on Monday through Wednesday, November 29 through December 1, 2021, on the remaining judicial candidates. As a reminder, the record remains open until the final report is issued at 12:00 Noon, Tuesday, January 18, 2022. Accordingly, judicial candidates are not free to seek or accept commitments until that time.

The election is currently scheduled for Noon on Wednesday, February 2, 2022.

Correspondence and questions should be directed to the Judicial Merit Selection Commission as follows: Erin B. Crawford, Chief Counsel, Post Office Box 142, Columbia, South Carolina 29202, (803) 212-6689 or Lindi Putnam, JMSC Administrative Assistant, (803) 212-6623.